NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series

GLENDORA, Calif. – The NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series will crown its first round of 2013 Champions this weekend at Rocky Mountain Raceways just outside Salt Lake City.  A/Fuel, Jr. Fuel and 7.0 Eliminator will each wrap up their points season which has made stops at Auto Club Famoso Raceway, north of Bakersfield, California, and at Sacramento Raceway earlier this year.

The A/Fuel class is by far the tightest race with three drivers within 2 points of each other, and a pair of others within a couple of rounds.  Bill Wayne leads Jerry Kumre and 5-time series champion Kin Bates by just two points.  Bates won the last event in Sacramento while Darrell Waters won the season opener in Bakersfield who sits in fifth with an outside shot at the title.  Mike Pawluk is fourth with a runner-up finish in Sacramento.

Wayne Ramay, who took over the driving duties for Bud Hammer in the Hammer-Hansen-Hook entry, leads the Jr. Fuel class with a win and a runner-up.  Ramay is followed by defending series champion Don Enriquez 39 points back and J.D. Zink who still has a mathematical shot, 86 back.

Michael Peck and Bobby Cottrel are in a battle by themselves for the 7.0 Eliminator title with Peck holding a 39 point lead which equates to two rounds of racing.  Peck has two wins this season beating Cottrel in both final rounds.

Also in action this weekend is the series’ Nostalgia Funny Car class with Dan Horan leading the points with a pair of final round appearances and a point’s total of 301.  Tim Boychuck sits in second at 273 with a win at the March Meet to open the season followed by defending series champion Jason Rupert who took home the trophy at Mission Raceway Park last month.  The Funny Car class will make a final stop in Bakersfield for the 22nd California Hot Rod Reunion presented by Automobile Club of Southern California, Oct. 18-20.

Racing kicks off at Rocky Mountain Raceway on Friday evening with a single qualifying run for all classes followed by final qualifying and elimination rounds beginning Saturday morning and running into the night.  For more information contact the track at 801-252-9557 or visit www.rmrracing.com.

Utah’s Fast Fifteen Results

Utah’s Fast Fifteen Results-Friday, October 4, 2013

  1. Shanze Panunzio  1971 Vega
  2.  Scott Cervantes 2004 Mustang
  3.  Ben Dartez  2003 Mustang
  4.  Deby Marshall 1967 Vette
  5.  Brett Woffinden  1989 BMW
  6.  David Kenney 1964 Chevelle
  7.  Kurt Bryant 1971 Camaro
  8.  James Waggoner  1978 Buick
  9.  Josh Turner 1956 Chevrolet
  10.  JR Crosby  2008 Lotus
  11.  Farshid Farahani 1992 Talon
  12.  Randy Funk  2006 Vette
  13.  Thomas Dyckman  1987 Buick GN
  14.  Jesus Mendoza 1994 Civic
  15.  Gardner Crane 2013 Mustang

Utah’s Fast Fifteen Results-Friday, September 6, 2013

  1. Shanze Panunzio 1971 Vega
  2. Scott Cervantes 2004 Mustang
  3.  Ben Dartez 2003 Cobra
  4.  Brett Woffinden 1989 BMW
  5.  Deby Marshall 1967 Corvette
  6.  David Kenney 1964 Chevelle
  7. Josh Turner 1956 Chevrolet
  8.  Kurt Bryant 1971 Camaro
  9.  James Waggoner 1978 Buick
  10.  JR Crosby 2008 Lotus
  11.  Farshid Farahani 1992 Eagle Talon
  12. Thomas Dyckman 1987 Buick Grand National
  13.  Randy Funk 2006 Corvette
  14. Jesus Mendoza 94 Civic
  15. Tyler Bennett 2006 Mitsubishi Evo

Utah’s Fast Fifteen Results-Friday, August 16, 2013